Backups are stored directly in a secure cloud storage managed by Aura.
Backups of your Neo4j AuraDB Instance(s) are taken automatically when:
- The AuraDB Instance was first created.
Free and Professional tiers (AuraDB)
- Each day approximately 24 hours apart from the last backup
- Hourly backups for Enterprise tier (AuraDB)
- Free and Professional tiers (AuraDB)
- Before we make any changes to the underlying system, such as applying patches.
- There are no scheduled AuraDS Backup
Snapshots are automatically taken during a backup and these can be downloaded (Export).
The snapshot (that gives you the ability to download a Dump file) is retained for up to seven days. You can find the snapshots for these backups in your Aura console by clicking the name of the AuraDB Instance you're working with and choosing the Backups tab.
How long are backups retained?
We keep copies of your backups in the form of Snapshots, the length of time these are retained for varies depending on which tier of Aura you use.
Snapshots are kept in the system for 30 days for Free instances, with only the latest snapshot available.
Professional Tier (AuraDB)
Snapshots are kept in the system for 7 days for Professional instances.
Enterprise Tier (AuraDB)
Snapshots are kept in the system for 90 days for Enterprise instances.
Professional & Enterprise (AuraDS)
Snapshots are kept in the system for 180 days for both tiers.
If you delete an AuraDB Instance, all associated Snapshots are automatically deleted, so if you need to retain a copy, please be sure to Export one.
For reference, an AuraDB export snapshot downloads a neo4j.dump, while an AuraDS export snapshot downloads a neo4j.tar.
Restoring a Snapshot
Note: Restoring a snapshot will overwrite the data in your AuraDB Instance, replacing it with the data contained in the snapshot.
To restore a given snapshot, click the Restore link on the line with the timestamp of your snapshot. You will be prompted to type the word RESTORE in all capital letters to confirm this action. The AuraDB Instances will be in Restoring state until the operation is complete, at which time it will change to Online.